All about Jamie’s 4th birthday celebrations

It’s taking me a week to write this post, things are just crazy. Yesterday Shae turned 2 months, tomorrow is my birthday and then things will return to normal again… so lots of blog posts I still need to write!

Here we go ~ the tale of Jamie’s fourth birthday:

The week before Jamie’s birthday I was so busy with all the preparations. I said I was going to go easy on myself, having to tend to my newborn and all, but true Debs-style I could not keep to it. So the week before the party I was basically baby-wearing Shae permanently in her wrap while I baked a storm loose in my kitchen. Oh my, the things I baked! Millionaire’s Shortbread, Peanut Butter Choc Chip Brownies, Date Balls, Apple delight and then of course my pièce de résistance – Jamie’s birthday cake.

Jamie’s party was held two days before his actual birthday and it was at a nice party venue…outdoors, so when I woke up to grey skies on the morning of his birthday my heart just sank. Gosh, I was keeping my eyes on the sky, eyeing my weather forecast app and even praying for a bit of sunshine, or at least no rain at the time of his party. Luckily, oh so luckily we had nice’ish weather for the party, yay! The kids had a ball playing and Jamie loved every moment of his party!

PicMonkey Collage 1

PicMonkey Collage2

After the party the countdown to his birthday continued. And the little dude announced that now he would love a Mickey Mouse birthday haha. Argh and of course I wanted to make Jamie’s day as special possible so I baked a quick tiny choc cake and made a Mickey Mouse head out of fondant, so that I had something special for his birthday.

I did not send him to school on his birthday, but kept him home with me so we could have some special time. His dad and I sang Happy birthday and he blew out his candles and opened his pressies before dad had to go to work. Oh and he had cake for breakfast, he thoroughly enjoyed that Mickey cake! At around tea-time daddy came how for a tiny Mickey Mouse party. I just printed a few Mickey stuff and put some cupcakes and sweeties on the table. Jamie was in his element!

Later his grandparents came to visit for lunch. Jamie and I watched a movie and went to the park and lastly we went to the Spur to end off his special day.

PicMonkey Collage 4

PicMonkey Collage3

My boy was super spoilt and he received so many special gifts: from his dad and I he got a car garage type play thingy and a carpet with a little town and streets printed on which he can use to play with his cars, he got a Spencer train and a Ninja Turtles plate and lots of sweeties. From friends and family he received so much… vouchers, a remote control car, lots of little cars, a tractor, a couple of action figures, books, activity books, colouring books, Angry birds beanie, puzzles…. oh my gosh too much to mention. Think I need a toy-day so I can sort out everything, organize and set aside toys he does not play with and divide between donating and some stuff that Shae can use some day.

Unfortunately Jamie thinks it’s still his birthday… so yesterday I had to explain the “day” part of birthday HAHA.

11 thoughts on “All about Jamie’s 4th birthday celebrations

  1. Jamie sure is a lucky dude! Looks and sounds like he had the most perfect birthday any 4-year old could wish for. Well done mommy for making it so special for him. You’re a superwoman! The party foods sound amazing, and I still can’t get over that cake, flip dis die mooiste koek ooit!
    Love the Mickey Mouse party celebrations too. Awesome memories!
    xx

    • Dankie Jess! I had so much fun with this, I love baking, so lived grabbing the opportunity to bake a storm loose in my kitchen 🙂 xx

  2. OMG Debs, you are so very talented. I wish I could just pop into the kitchen and whip up a cake, especially one decorated like yours. Good grief woman, you should charge money! It takes me all day just to build up the courage to start baking ! LOL
    Love little Shae in her sling. I’m sure she didn’t mind at all, nice and close to Mum.
    Jamie sure was spoilt rotten. But every day is like a birthday to them.
    Liams birthday toys from this year are still in a box in the lounge. There is absolutely no room in his bedroom for them. Something MUST go !
    Hugs Debs, you’re a great Mum

  3. Well done on the party baking – the cake is gorgeous! Nothing wrong with cake for breakfast either! 🙂
    Now Im going to day dream about Peanut Butter Choc Chip Brownies… sounds delish too! 🙂

  4. Wow! Looks like a totally fabulous party 🙂 Well done to you … really really really well done! Can’t believe you made all that stuff by yourself …

    Cake for breakfast is fully allowed on birthdays 🙂

    I am having a Micky Mouse Party for Mister in October 🙂

    Beautiful pics of your beautiful family!! Jamie is one lucky boy …

  5. You are a fabulous Mom! I cannot believe you actually made that cake all by yourself, and those fondant figures are lovely.
    Jamie is a lucky boy. I am beginning to wonder whether I am up for all the work that goes into birthday parties.

Leave a Reply

